Homemade Apple Chips

Have you ever tried apple chips? I found some in the grocery store a few years ago and fell in love. They make a wonderful snack — they’re sweet, crispy, and the best part is, they’re actually pretty healthy.

Homemade Apple Chips --- The perfect sweet and healthy snack

I went apple picking a few weeks ago and ended up with a ton of fresh Fuji apples to use up (I even dedicated my whole Friday Favorites post to fun apple recipes!). I came across this super simple recipe for homemade apple chips and just had to try it. I tweaked it a bit and created the perfect batch of sweet and crunchy apple chips.

Sweet and crispy homemade apple chips

I love this recipe because you really only need apples and can tweak the flavors to suit your tastes. I tried one batch with cinnamon and wasn’t a huge fan, then sprinkled some of my mother’s fancy vanilla sugar on the second batch, and created the most heavenly chips. You can try white granulated or brown sugar, pumpkin pie spice, or any other topping you want to match your mood.

Homemade baked apple chips

Preheat your oven to 275 degrees. To start, core your apples with an apple corer. The next part will be the most tricky. If you have a mandolin, which I used, slice your apples at about 1/4-inch thick. If you don’t have a mandolin (check out this one–it’s just $10), just carefully slice your apples with a knife as thinly as possible. Arrange the apples on a lined cookie sheet. Sprinkle your desired topping over the apple slices.  Bake for two hours, flipping the chips and rotating the sheet halfway through.

And that’s all! Let them cool and store in an airtight container.

One thought on “Homemade Apple Chips

Leave a comment